An Opening Day Win for the Clinton Millers Hunterdon’s Newest NJABL Team Calls Gebhardt Field Home


Sunday morning at 10am, the Clinton Millers took to Gebhardt Field for the first time in the New Jersey Amateur Baseball League.  Triple plays, stolen bases, and pop-flies gave this game a big league vibe on a historic town field in Clinton.

Reiner Logo

“We thought it would be fun to bring something like a baseball team back to Clinton” says Tom Smeltzer of Clinton, manager of the team “and we are lucky to have such a great field to play on.”

Seventeen men make up the adult team, most living within only a few miles of the diamond.  While player experience ranges from those who haven’t swung  a bat in 10 (ahem, 20) years to former college athletes, the team has been practicing together for the last couple of months and showed what they can do in an 11-1 win over the Old Bridge Hornets.


A fan and player family member, Brian McNamara of Jersey City says he is “really impressed with the synergy of the team as a whole.  They’re a lot of fun to watch.”


Games will be played on Sunday mornings through July 16th, many of which will be held at Gebhardt Field behind the Clinton Community Center on Halstead Street.   The Summer League consists of 10 games played over the course of 7 weeks.  The official game schedule will be posted on the team’s page on the New Jersey Amateur Baseball League’s webpage – – or by simply Googling “Clinton Millers.”

Patty Smeltzer of Clinton says “If you have a free Sunday morning and the Millers are playing a home game, you should definitely come check them out!  It doesn’t get much better than sitting in an old grandstand with a cup of coffee in your hand watching your hometown team.” Local business Sunrise Milk ( of Clinton sponsors the team and is owned by Tom Smeltzer and his wife, Patty.

Team Roster: Ernie Arroyo (7), Marc Claudio (5), Dominic Fortugno (22), Dan Medina, co-manager (11), Sean Modd (19), Allen Moyer (45), Ken Oborne (8), Jake Popa (1), Nick Popa (9), Brent Proctor (4), John Proctor (23), Hector Rosario (2), Will Runge (6), Brent Runge (12), Pat Ryan (17), Tom Smeltzer (18) , and Julian Somogyi (10)