Hunterdon Freeholder Director Named 1st Vice Chair Of Transportation Planning Authority

Hunterdon County Freeholder Director Matthew Holt was elected First Vice-Chair of the North Jersey
Transportation Planning Authority (NJTPA) Board of Trustees at the NJTPA meeting January 22.
NJTPA Board membership is an uncompensated position.
“The NJTPA is responsible for coordinating regional transportation planning efforts and the allocation of
federal funding that is critical to Hunterdon County’s road networks.

So it is most important for our County to
have a seat at the table. I thank my fellow Board members for electing me to this leadership position and look
forward to continuing this important work,” Freeholder Holt said.
The NJTPA oversees regional transportation planning and annually authorizes more than $1 billion in federal surface transportation funding for 13 counties in northern and central New Jersey. As Vice Chair,

Holt will also
serve on the Board’s five member Executive Committee.
The Executive Committee provides guidance and leadership to the full Board on a wide range of planning,
policy and administrative issues. It meets as needed to review financial, personnel and policy matters.
Freeholder Holt was elected in 2007 and joined the NJTPA Board of Trustees in 2008. He became a member of
the executive committee in 2009 and served as Chair from 2012-2013. He has served as chairman of the
NJTPA’s Planning & Economic Development Committee.
In 2013 Freeholder Holt received the National Association of Regional Council’s (NARC) Tom Bradley
Leadership Award. He was elected to NARC’s national Board of Directors that year and continues to serve in that role.

At the meeting, the NJTPA Board also selected four other members of its Executive Committee. In addition to
Freeholder Holt, the elected members of the Executive Committee are: Union County Freeholder Angel
Estrada, Chair; Passaic County Freeholder John Bartlett, Second Vice-Chair; and Essex County Executive
Joseph DiVincenzo, Secretary. In accordance with the bylaws, Freeholder Estrada appointed Morris County
Freeholder Kathryn A. DeFillippo to the position of Third Vice-Chair