HUNTERDON HERITAGE DAYS SUNDAY, SEPTEMBER 18TH AND 25TH

The Hunterdon 300th Committee is sponsoring Hunterdon Heritage Days on two consecutive Sundays in September. On September 18th and 25th, the public is encouraged to visit participating museums between 1pm and 5pm.  “We’re proud to highlight our rich history by promoting our beautiful museums for the 3rd consecutive year” said Marcia Karrow, Chair.  The tours were inaugurated during the Tricentennial Celebration in 2014 and have become a popular annual event.   Previously held in July, Hunterdon Heritage Days will now be held the last two Sundays in September.

 

The headquarters of the Hunterdon 300th at the Flemington Choir School, 3 Chorister Place will feature sale items perfect for holiday gift giving:

new!  T-shirts featuring a 1776 map of Hunterdon County;
new!  Two-year calendar by artists Dan and Marty Campanelli which features Tavern signs and histories;
new! Flags of the American Revolution blank note cards.
Also for sale is a rich assortment of books by local authors and artists.

 

Among the participating museums, the Doric House on Main Street in Flemington will feature a special exhibit of never before seen photos from 1889 to 1905 of historic Main Street donated by Betsy Schenk Trapp whose father John F. Schenk was a two-term mayor of Flemington.

 

Members of the Hunterdon County Cultural & Heritage Commission and the County Bar Association will give scheduled tours of the Historic Courthouse, Law Office and Old Jail located on Main Street in Flemington.  Special emphasis is on the Lindbergh Trial of 1935.

 

 

 

On September 18 only, the Red Mill Museum Village will host a Blacksmith Hammer In as well as an Irish Heritage celebration in conjunction with the Friendly Sons of St. Patrick of Hunterdon County.  There is an admission fee.

 

The Solitude Heritage Museum/Turner House in Union Township will showcase its new colonial herb garden in addition to a large collection of antique maps of early Hunterdon County.

 

The Tewksbury Historical Society in Mountainville will exhibit tickets, tools and other items from the Rockaway Valley (aka Rockabye Baby) Railroad which operated from 1890’s to 1910’s. Visitors are welcome to do research in the Society’s Library.

 

The Locktown Stone Church in Delaware Township built in 1819 and listed on the New Jersey and National Registers of Historic Places will be open for tours.  The well preserved building is an excellent example of the modest country churches erected throughout Hunterdon County.  An 18th century cemetery is nearby.

 

The blacksmiths of Holcombe-Jimison Farmstead in Lambertville will display their skills on September 25.  Visitors are invited to get hands-on experience crafting an iron hook but must wear cotton clothing and sturdy shoes.

 

Solitude House Museum on River Road in High Bridge will present live music and feature the history of the Taylor Wharton Iron & Steel Company as well as the Taylor family.  Also on September 25 the NJ Blacksmith Association will hold demonstrations on the grounds.

 

Housed in an 1825 one-room schoolhouse enlarged in 1870, the Township of Lebanon Museum in the New Hampton Historic District is a must see for children.  Old school items such as lunch boxes, old books, slates with sheepskin erasers and soapstone chalk are part of the eclectic display.

 

The Black River and Western Railroad Museum in Ringoes is housed in a retired Central Railroad of NJ baggage car.  A collection of local railroad memorabilia from Lambertville, Flemington and Ringoes are among the displayed items. The steam engine will run a special trip on Sept.25. Tickets can only be purchased at www.flemingtontrain.org.

 

A directory Museums of Hunterdon County will be available at each participating site.  The directory is also available on www.hunterdon300th.org.  Visitors are encouraged to consult the directory for street addresses and contact information.

 

Participating museums are: 

 

The Station at Califon, Califon
(Sept. 18 only);
Hunterdon Art Museum, Clinton
(Sept. 25 only-fee);
Red Mill Museum Village, Clinton (Sept. 18 only-fee);
Doric House,
Flemington;
Historic Courthouse / Law Office, Flemington; Township of Lebanon Museum,
New Hampton;
Solitude House Museum,
High Bridge;
Oak Summit School,
Kingwood Twp.;
Holcombe-Jimison Farmstead, Lambertville;
Readington Twp. Museums,
Readington Twp.;
Black River & Western Railroad Museum, Ringoes; Tewksbury Historical Society, Mountainville;
Solitude Heritage Museum (UFHA),
Union Twp;
Locktown Stone Church,
Delaware Twp.