RVCC Recognizes Galileo Scholarship Recipients

More than 100 students have been recognized by Raritan Valley Community College for their academic success as recipients of the College’s Galileo Scholarship for the 2015-2016 school year. The scholarship is awarded to students majoring in or receiving certificates in STEM (science, math, engineering and technology) programs, who qualify based on their academic success. The 2015-2016 scholarships are funded through the RVCC Foundation, the fundraising arm of the College, and through a grant from the National Science Foundation. Over the years, the RVCC Foundation has forged partnerships with individual donors, other foundations, businesses and corporations to secure support for Galileo Scholarships. The RVCC Foundation has secured generous funding from such individuals and groups as the Gibson Family Foundation; Sanford and Karolee Glassman; Janssen Pharmaceuticals; Sanofi USA; NCS Technologies; and others. The RVCC Foundation also holds an annual Golf Classic to raise funds for Galileo Scholarships. This year’s golf outing is July 11 at Raritan Valley Country Club. For information about the event or the Foundation, contact Ronnie Weyl, 908-526-1200, ext. 8349. The Galileo Scholars program is coordinated by Emilie Stander, RVCC Assistant Professor of Environmental Science, and Cynthia Geoffroy, Associate Professor of Mathematics. Scholars receive many benefits including opportunities to:  seamlessly transfer to partnering institutions of higher learning  explore career possibilities and professional development in their chosen STEM discipline  receive advising and academic support from faculty in their discipline area  participate in STEM-related activities on campus For information about applying for the Galileo Scholars program for future academic years, contact RVCC’s Financial Aid office at finaid@raritanval.edu. Following is a list of the students who were awarded Galileo Scholarships for the Fall 2015 and/or Spring 2016 semesters: Alain Abonge Yufanyi, Nicholas Accetta, Muhammad Afzal, Gino Alicandro, Michael Alirangues, Joseph Anarumo, Christopher Antony, Andres Arellano, Daniel Askin, Conner Asklof, Ricardo Ayala, Vincent Balducci, Shaira Baluyot, Christopher Barna, Piyali Basu, Casandra Begin, Jetmir Berisha, Osei Kwadwo Boateng, Ryan Bodajlo, Anthony Cabral, Trevor Carter, Dena Castellani, Adam Chacon, Vijaya Cherukuri, Matthew Christian, Andrew Christopher, Cesar Clarke, Dylan Corl, Kimberly Cuttle, Christopher Czechowicz, Matthew Demetris, Sandeep Dhagat, Kevin Donlan, Amanda Donner, Gertraud Eyong, Juan Fernandez, Lauren Ferretti, Stephanie Forest, Nathavasky Foreste, Aaron Formanowski, Daniel Fraser, Gillian Gauss, Tyler George, Yasmin Glennon, Jennifer Gomez-Hernandez, Edwin Guerrero, Crystal Guo, John Haddad, Aliaa Hassanin, Carly Heft, Rafael Heryapriadi, Paul Holmes, Chiatso Huang, Brian Huang, Abigail Huntington, Gabriel Huntley, Tegan Hurte, Aimna Ishfaq, Matthew Jarvis, Paul Jewell, Desmond Johnson, Rachel Jones, Akshay Katakam, Bryan Kline, Justin Kolbek, Dillon Kowal, Katherine Kusant, Jonathan West Lee, Matthew Leidy, Camille Leisy, Kilian Leisy, Catherine Liberio, Connor Loftus, Morgan Lojek, Graham Lundeen, Jason Lyons, Matthew Majorossy, Donna Maldero, Aldona Malkinska, Angel Matos Diaz, Ryan Mitchell, Wenjun Mo, Kevin Mohammed, Devin Mollegard, Oluebube Nduka, Conor Nelson, Laura Nicholson, Giovanna Noe, Thomas O’Hearen, Kristen Oringer, Rodrigo Alejandro Palomo, Xin Pan, Valeriya Paratsa, Ana Sofia Pareja, Viral Patel, Harsh Patel, Jay Patel, Jack Perhach, Felix Phang, Daniel Philipsheck, Eshley Pinto, Juan Prada Ojeda, Siddharth Raut, Jeshua Rodriguez, Jeremiah Rogers, Rosanny Rojas, Shawn Rumrill, Shayna Rumrill, Lourdes Sanchez, Matthew Santoianni, Keith Schroeder, Richard Seigler, Dylan Simoncelli, Jakub Sitarz, John Spiridigliozzi, Brenna Sprella, Rebecca Sulla, Deidre Supple, Justin Suriano, Matthew Szucs, Vanessa Teixeira, Shaleen Tyagi, Steven Valencia, Emerson Villaran, Alexis Weaver, Kimberly Wolak, Alexander Wozniewicz. Raritan Valley Community College’s main campus is located at 118 Lamington Road in Branchburg, NJ. Serving Somerset and Hunterdon County residents for close to 50 years, RVCC is an educational and cultural center that is nationally recognized for its innovative programming, service to the community and environmental leadership. The College offers more than 90 associate degrees and certificates, as well as career training, professional development and personal enrichment courses. The College also has a performing arts center and planetarium. RVCC is committed to offering a quality and affordable education through effective teaching, liaisons with the community’s businesses and state-of-the-art technology. For further information, visit www.raritanval.edu.