RVCC Students to be Honored by NJ Council of County Colleges GIRL FROM HAMPTON

Raritan Valley Community College (RVCC) students Tamer Shabani of Budd Lake and Kaitlyn Weiler of Hampton will be among 37 of the of the best and brightest community college students in the state to be honored by the New Jersey Council of County Colleges at its 21st annual Phi Theta Kappa Day celebration. The event will be held Thursday, May 7, at the Wyndham Garden Hotel in Trenton. “Each year, the New Jersey Council of County Colleges hosts this program to recognize the members of the New Jersey All-State Academic Team, sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for community colleges; the New Jersey Education Association (NJEA); and the Coca-Cola Foundation,” said NJCCC President Dr. Lawrence Nespoli. “These students are recognized for their outstanding academic achievements and exceptional service to their communities as members of Phi Theta Kappa at their local community colleges.” “NJEA is proud to celebrate the achievements of our students in New Jersey’s community colleges,” said NJEA President Wendell Steinhauer. “These students took full advantage of the tremendous opportunities our community colleges offer. They are well along the path to achieving their dreams and we wish them continued success.” Phi Theta Kappa has recognized and encouraged scholarship among community college students for 97 years while promoting the academic integrity of the associate degree program. Students with grade point averages of 3.5 or higher are invited to join Phi Theta Kappa. NJEA is a diverse, democratic organization working to achieve excellence in public education in New Jersey. The mission of the New Jersey Education Association is to advance and protect the rights, benefits, and interests of its 200,000 members, and promote a quality system of public education for all students. The New Jersey Council of County Colleges is the state association representing New Jersey’s 19 community colleges. As an independent, trustee-headed organization that joins the leadership of trustees and presidents, the Council is the voice o