Thirteen participating museums will welcome visitors on July 26 for Hunterdon Museum Days, a county-wide event that began last year in celebration of the Hunterdon Tricentennial. This is a great opportunity for museums to showcase their unique collections and share the history of the area with visitors, said Gayle Maher, an organizer of this year’s event.
A directory Museums of Hunterdon County will be available at each participating museum. The directory is also available on hunterdon300th.org; visitors are encouraged to consult the directory for street addresses and contact information.
Among the participating museums is the Township of Lebanon Museum on Musconetcong River Rd. in the New Hampton Historic District. The museum is housed in an 1825 one-room schoolhouse which was enlarged to its present size with the second story in 1870. The eclectic collection would interest visitors of all ages.
Also on the tour is the Prevost House on Milford-Frenchtown Rd. in Alexandria Township. Prevost House is a shared endeavor between Milford, Frenchtown and Alexandria and Holland Townships and will feature artifacts from each historical society. A collection of Lenape artifacts will also be displayed along with book signings by local history authors.
This is a special year at The Black River Railroad Museum which is celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Black River and Western Railroad. The museum, built in retired Central Railroad of New Jersey baggage car # 420, contains many artifacts dating to the 1860’s.
The Tewksbury Historical Society in Oldwick will have exhibits on the Rockaway Valley (aka Rockabye Baby) Railroad and Wines from the Tewkesbury Winery. The Stryker Dollhouse, an exact replica of the Stryker Home in Oldwick will also be on view.
The Samuel Fleming House Museum and Gardens are also on the tour this year. The house was built in 1756 on 210 acres purchased by Samuel Fleming. The area soon became known as Fleming’s Town and finally Flemington. Today, the house contains a colonial kitchen, parlor and a room honoring its residents through the years. The original downhill backyard was transformed into a beautiful terraced garden which should not be missed.
Participating museums are: The Hunterdon Art Museum and Red Mill Museum Village, Clinton; Doric House, the Choir School, Samuel Fleming House Museum and Gardens, and the Case-Dvoor Farm all in Flemington; Holcombe-Jimison Farmstead, Lambertville; Readington Twp. Museums, Stanton; Black River and Western Railroad, Ringoes; Tewksbury Historical Society, Oldwick; Solitude Heritage Museum-Joseph Turner House, Union Twp; Township of Lebanon Museum, Hampton, Prallsville Mills in Stockton and the Prevost House in Alexandria Twp.